Great Grocery Finds

I have said it once and I will say it again… I LOVE to grocery shop. I am definitely one of the handful of shoppers out and about beating the crowds at 8:00am and loving every minute of it. You know the saying “early bird gets the worm“? Well, early risers get the good picks of groceries with a lot less line-ups. Oh, and you get the first pick of fresh baked bagels too! Becky for the win!

There is something so enjoyable to me about hitting up the grocery store and perusing the aisles. I love to check out what produce is in season, what items might be on sale, and most importantly what new and cool products are hitting the shelf!

Well, this week I feel like I have hit the jackpot because I have come across a ton of new items lately and definitely want to share them with you!!

Small Batch Co.- Whole Grain Granola – First of all, HUGE shout out for being local! I had seen this in Sobeys for the last couple months but it wasn’t until they introduced the snack sized ones that I was really interested in trying.   I ended up buying the Original Niagara Blend and the Peanut Butter and Jelly.

IMG_0843.JPG

Basically the smaller ones are supposed to be mini cereal boxes and you can just add milk and eat. Hmm, not really my jam but it is a pretty good and a fun snack for when you are feeling like something different. Obviously really delicious on top of yogurt, fruit, or by the handful. This granola is gluten free, dairy free, soy free, vegan AND no preservatives… what could be better.

Suja Juice – Not everyone can get down with green juice…but I am obsessed with the stuff.  A few weeks ago, I was in Costco and this little (well big, nothing at Costco is little) gem caught my eye…we bought 4 bottles.  Crazy yes, but for good reason.  I knew I would love it.  Which I did and even Mike enjoyed it in the morning.  It definitely packs some serious punch and energizes you for the day.

IMG_0786

After my first glass I was hooked… so I emailed Suja because I had to find out how I can get my hands on more, in Canada.  Turns out I cant.  Which is totally disappointing.  Apparently only a few select Costco’s can carry the product and the “Mighty Dozen” is the only kind at this time.  I’ll definitely take what I can get because this cold pressed, organic, non-gmo  juice is delish!  The website says “this juice is for anyone looking to load up on “alkalizing greens”…and I think to myself, well who isn’t looking for that these days?!

Peace River Organic Honey –  Honey is totally awesome.  I love to add it to toast, oatmeal, smoothies, tea, or even my bananas in the morning.  Over the winter we had switched to the unpasteurized version and hated how hard it was to get out of the jar.  INTRODUCING… Peace River’s “creamed” unpasteurized honey!! After buying this stuff from Costco all my honey woes were out the window.

img_0844.jpg

I managed to pick this baby up on my mini road trip last week but otherwise haven’t been able to see it locally.  This honey is creamy, smooth, sweet and CANADIAN!!  Their entire process “from hive to honey jar, is free from chemicals, pesticides and antibiotics” not to mention it is certified organic and non-gmo! Honestly…wicked buy!

So Delicious Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert – I love eating ice cream.  Throughout the summer I can go through many boxes of Chapman’s (my favourite company of all time…any flavour will do).  But when I was at Zehrs (grocery store of choice, always!), I found this cashew non-dairy frozen dessert…

Ice Cream

Ummm, it is surprisingly amazing and delicious. It is a bit on the expensive side but I managed to get it on sale (win!). The “frozen dessert” is actually made of cashew milk (LOVE cashews) and I want to try all the flavours! Go out and buy it, even if you aren’t dairy free, you will not regret it!  I actually ate half a container yesterday…no shame.

Sun Tropics Organic Baby Bananas – Again, this was one of those great finds while hitting up a Costco in the GTA…but I was happy to see it in our local Costco this week!  Anyway, these are a fun little snack to bring to work or to have as a quick sweet treat after dinner.  Mike adds it to his trail mix and I just eat them by the handful straight from the bag!  They are delicious!  Actually, all dried fruit is but this was the first time I had ever had bananas like this.

IMG_0845

The bag says the sweetness “results from the organic, chemical-free process of tossing freshly picked, peeled, and sliced bananas”.  But I figure, hey whatever works.  Thanks for putting so much effort into it because they are certainly delicious!

Well, hopefully you liked to see what has been blowing up my pantry lately! I am very passionate about my groceries lol and for some reason need to spread the word on what fun, healthy, and delicious snacks you can get your hands on!

Eat Food. Love Life.

Bea

 

4 thoughts on “Great Grocery Finds

Leave a Reply

