The Big “O”

…Organic that is. HA!  Gotcha!

Now that you are disappointed, please do not stop reading.  I promise I won’t preach about organic food.  However, I would like to try to explain my approach to the matter and provide my personal experience on how simply paying attention to the quality of food I eat has transformed my life…and it could do the same to yours.

Organic Market Fresh Salad

First, I would like to touch on the fact that I have not always eaten like this.  In fact, this is a really far cry from the way I used to eat. If I asked my 24 year old self what I would be eating in 6 years from now, with a Diet Pepsi in one hand and a cigarette in the other, I highly doubt my answer would be anything in line with reality.  But I cannot stress enough how different I feel and how much my body has changed since I began this real food journey, which really has been 5 years in the making…

img_07611-e1495371910597.jpg

There is a lot of misperception and opinion around organic vs. non organic. Throughout the years, Mike and I have gradually transitioned towards the organic movement and really will never look back.  In our household we prefer to eat organic, free range and natural products but believe me, this does not apply to everything we consume.  I have said it once and I will say it again, it is all about balance in every aspect of your life and this is no exception.

Dinner

The explanation behind our food preference is simple; it just tastes better, is better for you, and this is because it’s grown, raised or made with love and real ingredients.  A little less touchy feely and more of a harsh truth, is that more often than not, we want to try our best to eliminate the consumption of chemicals, pesticides, antibiotics, and growth hormones from our diet… I mean, who wouldn’t right?

IMG_0629

If you aren’t living under a rock, then I am sure you have seen or at least heard of the documentaries out there around food choices.  Netflix alone has a wide variety but the more popular are: Forks Over Knives, Food Inc., and Hungry For Change.  They are definitely worth watching and taking the information into consideration.  They really do tap into a lot of subjects that are not typically discussed and big brand companies try and muzzle.

Breakfast of champions

The food realities that these documentaries discuss definitely fall under the “ignorance is bliss” paradigm and you really have to make a choice if this is something you want to start paying attention to or not. However, I would like to caution you to take their opinions and lifestyles with a grain of salt because they are definitely an “all in approach” and may not be realistic for all of us…myself included.

Cedar Plank Salmon

Now, I am not suggesting that you ditch all products you own and switch everything over to organic, that is unrealistic and ridiculous.  It is expensive, not always worth it, and a lot of the foods we love aren’t organic…and that’s ok.  My suggestion would be to start paying attention to what your grocery store has to offer and do a price comparison.  More and more you will see organic sections growing and offering a large variety of different products.  Instead of running into the grocery store to pick up your regular items, take a few extra minutes and walk through the organic/health food section just to get an idea of what is out there…I think you will be surprised.

IMG_1068

Better yet, make a habit of visiting your local farmer’s market!  It is a great way to have access to in-season produce, it allows you to support local, and the abundance/variety is constantly changing.  The atmosphere is unreal and will give you a chance to shop around at a number of different local organic and non-organic farms…nothing is better.

Creek Shore Farms

I know that now more than ever, everyone’s budget is struggling.  But, what is more important than your health?  I promise that you will never regret providing nutrient dense, health filled, chemical free food to you and your family and making your food quality a top priority.  Your body will love you for it.  Think about it, how could your body not change once you start fueling it with more real food and less processed?

Tilapia and Quinoa

So how has eating this way transformed my life? Well, after seeing how much is written already, I think I will save that for another day.  However I will say this, over the last few years my food choices have made such an impact on me that I feel strong enough to write about it and if discussing my approach to food, health and exercise can help even just one person… what more could I ask for?

That’s it for now…lets see where this goes.

Love BeaBea

Want an awesome organic peanut butter cookie recipe?  Check out my recipe!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

** All opinions are my own and I have zero training on the matter…simply just life experience.

One thought on “The Big “O”

Leave a Reply

